Quiet Time To Reassess Positive Thinking – A Poem By Colin Andrews

Colin-Andrews-HeadShouldersHere’s something I didn’t expect to announce this way: I’m coming back to the podcasting game. I’ve been taping interviews for this and expect it to be up and running in the next week or so. I won’t write anything else about it until the official announcement because I don’t want to step on any toes. But all of this is to say, I wanted Colin Andrews as a guest to discuss at what point a researcher becomes an experiencer. He liked the idea and since we’re friends, he agreed to record when he got back from a trip abroad, even though he’s on media hiatus.

Whelp, he’s back and will not be doing the show after all. Instead–and in answer to why–he sent me an audio file of him reading a poem that he had written. He gave me permission to publish it exclusively, so here it is. One wonders what happened on this trip to provoke such a powerful and definitive response that we can all respect and take to heart.

Yes, it might do us all good to take this to heart.

CLICK HERE TO LISTEN

EDIT:

Well, this has certainly resonated with a good many people in a short amount of time. My friend Joe Gooch has set it to music, with enthusiastic approval by Colin.

CLICK HERE FOR THE MUSICAL VERSION

5 thoughts on “Quiet Time To Reassess Positive Thinking – A Poem By Colin Andrews

  1. Yes… let all the words fall away to get to the root experience level.

    I recall memories as a toddler when I had no words to express what I was experiencing. My memories are sensory / visual / something else so I cannot really express them with words. I also recall early efforts at language… I have a particularly vivid memory of trying to form the word “grandpa”… My dad was trying to teach me this. He was with me, encouraging me to form the words by repeating them back to me. I recall the physical sensation of my mouth/tongue/(teeth?) trying to make those sounds, and my brain trying to piece it together. But try as I might, they came out very different than what I was hearing (from my father). I was so frustrated. lol. Part of the difficulty was that I already had a (non-verbal) sensory experience of “grandpa/granny” which was incredibly complex and rich – it involved both my grandpa and granny; i.e., in my sensory experience, they were not separate “units”. So, trying to express THAT with a vocalization for one part of it (grandpa as a separate unit/concept) was very confusing. I remember this vividly. It seems funny to me now.

  2. Hmmm, in most cases, yes, but as a general rule I have trouble recalling recent information that is verbal or auditory. For example, if someone tells me something (verbally), I don’t always remember. I more easily recall recent visual and sensory experiences… I also sometimes “translate” a verbal or auditory experience into a visual memory. I think a lot of us do this – reading or hearing something will sometimes conjure a mental “picture” – this makes it easier to remember (for me).

  3. Jeremy – Glad to hear you’re coming back to the “podcasting game.” I’m still working through the Paratopia Archive on my daily commute, but I’m looking forward to hearing where you’re at now. BTW, weird coincidence – my parents recently visited Hawaii and when I asked them how it was, they said it was good and quickly began telling me how they visited a place that sold “Donkey Balls” and how much they enjoyed eating them! I couldn’t believe it! But then, I guess Hawaii is a relatively small place, afterall.

Leave a Reply

